Notorious by Minerva Spencer

Rebels of the Ton: Book 1


Notorious is the first book of a thrilling historical regency romance trilogy by S.M. LaViolette, writing under the pen name of Minerva Spencer. 

I don’t read romance very often, and it has to be either recommended to me specifically or stand out in some way to catch my attention. The cover art of Notorious grabbed my attention and I couldn’t pass it up. It didn’t scream romance, and neither did the series title, Rebels of the Ton. So I gave it a chance, and I’m glad I did.

Drusilla Clare has been in love with her best friend’s stepbrother since she first met him, but she knows the handsome older man could never love a girl like her. She wasn’t ugly, but despite being filthy rich, no one had ever courted Dru. Women young and old, married and unwed all flocked to the handsome Gabriel Marlington, however. Her attraction makes Dru extremely uncomfortable, so she covers it by being cold – even rude – to the man. So when events force the two into a whirlwind engagement, neither Dru nor Gabe are pleased.

I absolutely loved this book. Filled with twists and turns, drama, and scorching hot romance, I can’t wait for the sequels. The second book, Outrageous, is slated for June 29, 2021, and the third book, Infamous, is scheduled for September 28 of this year.


Visit the author’s website at

Notorious cover design and photo illustration credit: Kristine Mills.

Advance Reading Copy provided by Kensington via Netgalley at my request.

I also listened to the audiobook as soon as it was available though my local library.

Audiobook narrated by Heather Wilds.

Read my review of Outrageous, Rebels of the Ton: Book 2.

2 thoughts on “Notorious

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close